1	Report of the Membership AR – 2016
2 3 4 5 6 7 8	The Secretary shall be responsible for the supervision and direction in this Area of Responsibility – Membership. Association matters pertaining to, but not limited to, HDA awards, new dentist concerns, recruitment and retention issues, well being services, history and necrology records, peer review process, professional liability issues and ethics issues shall be in the area of Membership.
9 10 11 12 13	The HDA awards were presented at the House of Delegates meeting held on November 21, 2015 at Honolulu Country Club. The following awards were presented: Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. Craig Mason; Distinguished Service Award, Dr. John Black; HDA President's Awards, Dr. Scott Morita; Young Dentist Group Award, Dr. Erin Uwaine; HDA Award of Honor, Melissa Pavlicek.
14 15 16 17	The Peer Review Task Force and the Ethics Task Force report that there were no cases reported this year and were not convened.
18 19	The <i>Hawaii Dental Association Journal</i> and continues to be an excellent representation of the Hawaii Dental Association in print as well as online.
<ul><li>20</li><li>21</li><li>22</li><li>23</li></ul>	The Hawaii Dental Association continues to have outstanding membership retention with members comprising more than 91% of the all licensed dentists practicing in Hawaii.
24 25 26 27	The Well Being Task Force under the chairmanship of Dr. Carl Kobayashi has been providing resources and follow up for impaired dentists. There were no cases requiring assistance from the task force in 2016.
28 29 30	The Young Dentist Group, chaired by Dr. Scott Morita, was awarded the 2016 ADA Golden Apple award for the best New Dentist Committee in the nation.
31 32 33 34 35	The members who have died since the 2015 House of Delegates or were not reported in earlier house meetings are Drs. Alan Miyamoto, Denis K. Teraoka, Glenn H. Fujihara, Howard H. Mirikitani, Leslie Y. Yamanaka, Kenneth K. Chikamoto, Frederick A. Curtice, Henry K. Kawasaki, Scott S. Kubota and Melvin Yee.
36 37 38 39 40 41 42	The following members met the criteria for HDA Life Membership since the last House of Delegates in 2014: Drs. Ileana Carreno, Mark Chun, Kenneth Fasig, Patsy Fujimoto, Lester Harunaga, Patrick Hayashi, Glenn Inouye, William M. Kaneko, Lester Kanemaru, Steven Kanemoto, Ben Kawasaki, Ernest Lau, Jochen Madeisky, Rosemarie Molina, Stephen Moriguchi, Michael Nishime, Neil Nunokawa, Anthony Poon, William Sanford, Alan Tamashiro, David Tamura, George Wessberg, Steven Wonderlich and Ken Yamashiro.
43 44 45	Respectfully submitted,
46 47	Wayne S. H. Leong, DDS

48	Secretary
49	Becreury
50	
51	Recommendation of the HOD Reference task force on the Report of the
52	Membership AR:
53	
54	The HOD Reference task force recommends that the report be accepted.
55	The 1102 Reserving task force recommends that the report of accepted.
56	Action taken by the House:
57	
58	
59	Resolution #2016-05
60	
61	<b>Background:</b> In 2017 the Membership AR plans to exercise sound fiscal management
62	and requires appropriate funding to perform its program and task force responsibilities
63	and recommends adoption of the following resolution:
64	
65	<b>Resolved.</b> that the House of Delegates budget the sum of \$359,300 (income) and
66	\$39,000 (expense) for conduct of the Membership AR activities in 2017.
67	
68	
69	Recommendation of the HOD Reference task force on the Membership AR
70	Resolution #2016-05:
71	
72	The HOD Reference task force recommends that the resolution be adopted.
73	
74	
75	Action taken by the House: